100 Days Of Joy

DAY ZERO: The quest to find my way into tech by bringing more joy into my life.

In the summer of 2019 I started my journey into learning how to code. I was inspired by Benji Vaughn who is the CEO of Disciple Media (formerly known as Prometheus, who is by far one of my favourite DJs on this planet.)

I had expected my journey to be rather linear: HTML, CSS, JavaScript, React get a job and live happily ever after, but I couldn't find the connect between how coding would be a part of my future as a passion. As a former artist, the idea of doing something simply just for money without creating something deeply disturbed me, to the point where looking back upon it, it even stalled my journey into finding a job.

In December 2020 I was attacked and sustained a brain injury and in that moment I found the passion in tech. It occurred to me in the weeks following my attack, that I wanted to build something to help me better organise my life. During my time healing, I felt the burden of being one person unable to care for myself in the ways that I needed to, but I didn't want another person (A parent, friend, nurse or partner) to have to be that person. I envisioned a doll version of myself that could clean my room and do the smaller tasks that I wanted to delegate out.

Great, I had found my passion to build something in tech, but I knew that the idea of building a doll was out of my skill level, definitely out of my budget, and in my state out bounds. Since I had been hit in the head, I couldn't sit at the computer for the time needed to create the app I desired.

Fast forward to April 1, 2021. I've healed enough to pursue this dream/passion and I'm here to document my journey.